Call of Death

It’s that time of the year again.

Now there can be two deviations of this statement. Both that I can relate to. It’s the Labor Day also known as the 1st of May in layman’s term, celebrated in the most disappointing way in my country though, where no one really pays heed to this day other than enjoying an official holiday, Yes – perks of being an ass. However, to be brutally honest, I give no shit. Not now, at least.

It’s the first of May. It holds it’s own significance in my life. Other than sitting at home buried in my books where the walls of my study room have started to fascinate me, I sit and think. I wonder. I keep doing that. But to no avail, really. Waiting anxiously for this day to end, For it’s my birthday tomorrow. It’s here. Also not to forget the Exams in 4 days. See? See, HOW the excitement just went down the drain and whoosh, it’s gone. The British Council has its own ways to swing the lives of students; however they wish, however they want. Never have I felt this tired and frustrated. Maybe, it’s that phase again. For I know, these exams carry so much importance. I have myself completely prepared not to stress and give it my best shot.

There are times (read: every time) when I’m writing, I don’t know where is it leading to. This is, without a doubt, one of those times. Sticking to one thing is hard. I’m thinking something else, jotting down something else, wanting a chocolate, but doing fine with the mineral water, words seem to play with my already concentrated mind with; reasons to why current is induced to why Copper didn’t react to what does a catalyst do to why silver nitrate is a pussy and doesn’t react to God knows what.

I just want to keep on writing.

But it’ my birthday tomorrow….I love birthdays. This year, I feel ‘surprisingly’ weird. There are two certainties in life. One is death, second is your birthday, indicating that you’re closer to it. Maybe, I think too much and complicate things. Or maybe I’ve grown up and birthdays are losing the charm they used to have. But one more year closer to death, isn’t it? I believe in myself as the most optimistic person on Earth and probably, always smiling like a bad-ass. But tomorrow, it’s the 2nd of May. (When David Beckham was born too by the way (I secretly always jump frantically over this). Tomorrow reckons that there are 4 days left before the show starts. Tomorrow brings me to an older version of myself, Tomorrow indicates, like it does to everyone else on their day, My Call of Death. Just a bit closer, year after year.

“It’s being here now that’s important. There’s no past and there’s no future. Time is a very misleading thing. All there is ever, is the now. We can gain experience from the past, but we can’t relive it; and we can hope for the future, but we don’t know if there is one.”

― George Harrison

*Over and out.*

Ice-cream anyone? 

_____________________________________________
*I wrote this post on the 1st of may and it was to be originally posted on that very day but due to the excessive load shedding and the scarcity of time, it’s getting posted today. Means,my birthday’s over and tomorrow is ‘the day’*

Also: 
Image
^ celebrating the day nonetheless, here’s to my 17 cupcakes my friends got me 🙂

About Sarin

Hello there. Currently a student, finishing my O'levels, a lazy teenage Pakistani. People tend to pronounce my first name wrong which annoys me. Here's how you pronounce it :- Sir-een. I think the world is funny and awesome. I'm addicted to Ice-cream and chips and I can have Chinese at any place, any day of the year. I love people. Almost all sorts. & travelling. Rain drives me crazy (in a good sense). My friend's cat hates me and gives me evil death glares. I’m here to express myself, on a board I think is awesome, and exchange my experiences, and my thoughts on randomness, maybe? I’ll be blogging about all the random stuff and you'll have to bear it.I love talking and surprises, wrapping presents and giving them away. My existence is for a reason. I want to die happy. And till then live happy to achieve the latter. Adios.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Call of Death

  1. Ralph says:

    Hey cupcake !! Happy birthday Sarin at the ripe old age of what ? 17 ? I’ll have to get you a walking frame and a place in an old people’s home for you next year ……….. not !!! You are 17 and worrying about dying of old age?? The only thing you should be worrying about is why your stock of chocolates and crisps are so low and which star you have fallen in love with … like me Uh hum !! 😉

    If you really, really promise to write more posts I will re-follow you. I promise 😀 Ralph xox

  2. Alastair says:

    I agree with Ralph. You shouldn’t be worrying about dying of old age. I remember when I was 17 (vaguely – it seems almost a lifetime ago) I was looking forward to my eighteenth birthday. The thought of death never occurred to me.

    Happy birthday for the 2nd. And good luck for your exams tomorrow

  3. Dilip says:

    Hi Sarin belated happy birthday. Make each day a celebration 🙂
    Cheers

  4. Faizan Javed says:

    Wow Good one sarin (Y) hope to see much more of them

Leave a Reply

