Three Bananas

Image

Bananas, Bananas, Bananas! & the secret behind them!

All those with a dirty mind must refrain from reading this blog. Not that I do not have one but I know some, who do. Blekh, coming back to the topic?

So, yesterday, I come back from school and I see freshly bought bananas on my kitchen counter. Bananas, the fruit guys! (just sayinn’ =p) Anyways, so I pick one up to fight my hunger pangs and gobble it up (yes, I was that hungry). Since, the size of that banana was quite inadequate, I ate another one…

Now this is where the story begins. Like Batman Begins. And ended up in a trilogy. Yea, something almost like that. So, when I had the second banana, I was almost full and didn’t find any need to eat another one. That’s where I went wrong. I somehow found myself restless and uneasy. I have to eat the third banana, I say to myself in horror! But I wasn’t hungry. I didn’t want to but somehow there was a pushing force, something more like a forcing move. 

Why? Why was this happening? Why couldn’t I digest the two bananas without feeling uneasy and not comfortable? 

I’ll tell you why. Yes, I have the answer, how awesome is that? (you don’t get to answer your own questions that often, now do you?) Ever since I was a child, me and my siblings had always heard our mom say :- ‘No you can’t eat one banana! Eat another one!!‘ We being the innocent kids of that time, respectably ate another one. ‘No, two bananas?! That’s not good for health! Three is the number, Sarin. Teen kailey khao! (eat three bananas!)’ And so we ate the third one as well. Sigh.

What exactly was behind this logic? I’ll tell you (yes, I have the answer again *wink*). It was a myth. Yes, a Myth. Created by my forefathers and still managed to exist. As a kid I used to think it was a tactic our Mom used, so we could eat Bananas in abundance to have a fresh and healthy diet. Well, it was sort of a tactic, but there was more to it than just that. 

• 1 banana :- If you eat one banana, you get constipation. Yes, you read that right. This is the most uneasy state when you apply a force, almost equal to a woman who applies while delivering a baby, to ward off the undigested food from your body. Yes, it happens when you eat One Banana. One. 

• 2 bananas :- You get loose motions if you eat two bananas 🙂 Loose motions, for crying out loud! This is the state when you do not have ANY control, whatsoever, over your potty timings. I’m sorry, I just had to type that. 

• 3 Bananas :- You’ll be bestowed with the best of health if you eat 3 bananas!! Yes, good health! How soothing. 

And so, this was the myth I’ve been raised with and I’m definitely planning to train my kids the same way. It worked, right? It definitely did.

There have been multiple myths created by the lovely earthlings and honestly, as stupid as the myths can get, they’re always very interesting and are always enjoyed by me, atleast. Like the black cat and the bad luck which comes along with it, only by placing your eyes on the poor black kitty. Racism, I tell you! :O

And so, I ended up eating just the 2 bananas. Apparently and surprisingly, I’m all fine and in the best shape. Atleast, for now.

Do you believe in myths? Or find them utterly stupid? Do share the interesting myths, you know about!

About Sarin

Hello there. Currently a student, finishing my O'levels, a lazy teenage Pakistani. People tend to pronounce my first name wrong which annoys me. Here's how you pronounce it :- Sir-een. I think the world is funny and awesome. I'm addicted to Ice-cream and chips and I can have Chinese at any place, any day of the year. I love people. Almost all sorts. & travelling. Rain drives me crazy (in a good sense). My friend's cat hates me and gives me evil death glares. I’m here to express myself, on a board I think is awesome, and exchange my experiences, and my thoughts on randomness, maybe? I’ll be blogging about all the random stuff and you'll have to bear it.I love talking and surprises, wrapping presents and giving them away. My existence is for a reason. I want to die happy. And till then live happy to achieve the latter. Adios.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Three Bananas

  1. freebirdmani says:

    On the other hand, here is more to it.

    Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD): Bananas can help SAD sufferers because they contain the natural mood Enhancer tryptophan.

    Smoking &Tobacco Use: Bananas can also help people trying to give up smoking. The B6, B12 they contain, as well as the potassium and magnesium found in them, help the body recover from the effects of nicotine withdrawal.

    Stress: Potassium is a vital mineral, which helps normalize the heartbeat, sends oxygen to the brain and regulates your body’s water balance. When we are stressed, our metabolic rate rises, thereby reducing our potassium levels. These can be rebalanced with the help of a high-potassium banana snack.

    Strokes: According to research in The New England Journal of Medicine, eating bananas as part of a regular diet can cut the risk of death by strokes by as much as 40%!

    Warts: Those keen on natural alternatives swear that if you want to kill off a wart, take a piece of banana skin and place it on the wart, with the yellow side out. Carefully hold the skin in place with a plaster or surgical tape!

  2. may be , Banana made you thinking , as an Apple did just the same for Newton 😉

    But , i always say no to banana as i just can not digest banana easily , so poor for Me 😦

  3. In Jakarta, it is banana everywhere. And all different kinds as well. We fry bananas, and it is sold on the streets.

  4. chris9911 says:

    lol, I haven’t seen bananas that small, ever! no wonder you can eat upto 3 of them. Seems like every banana I pick up here is gi-normous compared to the cute little ones in your picture. I can’t fathom anybody eating 3 bananas from my area, regardless of myth or a reality 🙂 This was a funny reading and I’m glad you didn’t get constipated 🙂 That was very painful, the way your described constipation from one banana…lol

    • Hahah, Chris! I’m glad you enjoyed and got the humor 😉

      Ah, yes I have seen those enormously large bananas as well! I can tell why it’s pretty hard for you to think of eating 3 bananas in one go. Guess, if we go according to the myth, one banana of that size equals to 3 bananas? 😉 Suggest everyone around to eat one banana a day, Chris! ;D

  5. This reminded me of a conversation I had yesterday about superstitions. In sports sometimes people will wear the same underwear all season as long as they are winning. Ha! I know this is different than a myth, but it still made me think of that. It makes me laugh at their extreme-ness ! I really don’t believe underwear does the trick! Ha ha! BANANAS MIGHT THO!

    • Hahah, yes I’ve heard that one before! ‘The Lucky Undi’ it is.. 😛 LOL! Maybe it gets too stinky that the other opponents are forced to loose and let the person with his lucky charm win.. ah well. Sad, it is.

      Lol, bananas are definitely a better option!

  6. Ralph says:

    Trick your friends with a banana. Get a long needle. Push it in a seam of the banana to the other side without piercing the skin on the other side. Move the needle from side to side without cutting the skin. Move down the banana a centimeter at a time doing the same thing. When your friend peels the banana watch their face, as the banana has been cut into slices. Have a nice weekend Sarin. Hugs. Ralph x

  7. Snakehair says:

    I like chocolate covered bananas.. mmmm!

  8. M. Hassan says:

    lol utterly pointless myths
    you know how myths get started?
    they are always true for at least ONE person…
    pakistani people being the sheep they are just love to follow suit

    i only read this post because you warned people with dirty minds not to read it & I was curious to see if i have a dirty mind 😛

    Do I?

    Anyway, so as I was saying, yeah, Bananas give me headaches. So I don’t like them. I’m glad you can eat them with such abundance. This myth, and many others, among the milllion or so reasons I don’t like being here.

    Or maybe I do and I just like to complain a lot about things I wish would change.

    Fruit for thought 🙂

    • Sarin says:

      Hahah, what do you think? Do you? =p

      & I’d go with the latter 😉 Complaining won’t help until you change it yourself or just simply, adapt it.

      & the myths, yes they go on and on and on! Ignoring them is really the best option.

  9. banana are good for digestion

  10. mominalatif says:

    so what happens if you eat four…?

  11. Rabail says:

    simple, catchy and an amazing read. (Y)
    i have creative juniors. 😉

  12. Alastair says:

    I’ve tagged you in a game of Tag 🙂 You are under no obligation to play, but it could be fun
    http://kattermonran.com/2012/10/05/tagged-youre-it/

  13. dania.nawaz says:

    Sarin, another random but totally endearing post 😉
    P.S: Based on you are what you eat, I’d say “You’re bananas, woman!” 😉 Haha, sorry – couldn’t resist 😀 Keep writing moi fellow blogger, thumka+pool buddy ❤

  14. Ikakoentjoro says:

    Banana,,,,,banana,,,,hmmmm yummy. There is many types of bananas in my country

  15. Okay, so apparently even the superstitions I’ve heard are false. Bleh.
    I thought that two bananas are super awesome for you, or at least that’s what Ami advocates.
    Thank God for two though. I don’t want my mother trying to force feed me three. The horror.

  16. aslam iqbal says:

    very informative topic
    sarin you have style of thinking like newton he came up with laws of gravitation through apple
    you might come with something of your own (when we used to come from school ate bananas number times but never gave a thought)
    superb thinking

  17. This was both hilariously funny & enlightening! Now, every time I look at a banana, I’m going to crack up laughing! 😆

    • Sarin says:

      Hahah, it’s quite the same with me as well! 😉 It gets me wondering and when I think about the things I’ve written in my blog, I just laugh to myself. 😀

  18. Sarin,good morning ,very interesting post about B A N A N A .Thank you for your nice comment and you visit.Wishing you the best.jalal

  19. Phil Lanoue says:

    I like bananas on my corn flakes. 😀

  20. yepirategunn says:

    Wonderful post! You made me chuckle – a lot! Now I’m waiting for the shops to open to buy my bananas!

    • Sarin says:

      Thankyouu! I’m glad you enjoyed 😉
      Hahah, happy bananas!

      • yepirate says:

        Just read it again – hope your studies and passions include something about writing! ( unbelievably I first wrote ”bananas” absent-mindedly instead of ”writing’ and nearly clicked sentd)

      • Sarin says:

        Hahah, guess everyone’s going too much bananas by this post!

        & yes they most definitely do. I write when I feel like so and the words just flow out nice and smooth 🙂

  21. aeraszaidi says:

    I don’t believe in myths. -_- Although the bad omen brought by the whinning of a black cat…? :/ Well, my mother died a week later a black cat continuously kept whinning outside our house in the middle of the night. 😦 It took just one week and then the whinning died with my mother and the black cat disappeared, never to be seen or heard of again. o.O I still don’t believe in these myths and omens. 😛 They’re coincidence for me. 8|

Leave a Reply

