The Privilege

Image

The road of my colony, all washed and beaming. Pleased and proud. & also the confused kid on the bicycle.

Cursed? 

No.

Yes, ‘no’ would be my answer right now. I think I might just believe that, the curse is wearing off, gradually (oh it totally did). I spent all my summer longing for clouds of my city to burst open and start crying. Cry to such extent that I get over dozed on happiness. The rain bliss :’) My state of extreme happiness has been defined. Certainly, that really was not the case.

I spent my 3 months of freedom hearing the news that several cities of Pakistan received rain showers and my city was never included in the list of flooding-with-rain bitches. Oh the jealousy. The envious looks. The hateful thoughts. The cursing. Well, the weather forecast of my cell phone still kept us all fooled and deceived, by it’s not-so-true forecasts. I’d see thunderstorm by thunderstorm being predicted in my city and yet, by the end of the day, always found myself in the state of transforming into liquid humans due to the excessive scorching heat.

I think I really did see the weather forecast application do the *point and laugh* move on us for it playing the hideous joke on us. Always. It wasn’t funny y’know? And so I firmly brought myself to a conclusion : my city was cursed. 

And so I thought, maybe God isn’t happy from the civilians/me, maybe the clouds are too busy in their happy moments that they find no need to cry and mourn over us, maybe the oceans have dried and the whole cycle has been destroyed OR just maybe, it wasn’t raining because it was not raining. Yea, my mind works in multiple ways. 

Anyways, so the curse has been lifted and voila!, it has been raining for five days now. Continuously. Please, now this very moment, offer the ‘being grateful’ to God prayers and do not read my blog with envious eyes, rather send more of your blessings and wish for more rain! Be grateful. All I ask. For me. Or the cursed city.

The privilege of running in the rain – wild and free. This is one special advantage not enjoyed by all. Here, I would not be talking about the privilege of having two legs to run from, (Alhumdulillah those I have and all my loved ones, the people related to me and all that I know and can think of right now are blessed with the two legs as well) infact the provoking feeling one feels, including me, to run out in the open and love every droplet coming from the far stretched sky at that time. That is the privilege I’m blogging about.

Image

That’s me, a picture more than a year old. Call me a rain-lunatic? Whatever that means.

Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet – Bob Marley.

‘Rain rain, go away. Come again some other day..-‘ <— this one poem I think I loathed the most if I recall my childhood days. Never in my wildest dreams would I want to wish for rain to go and the sky to get clear (except when I’m onto something and rain would totally destroy it). I’ve always loved rain and the fact that everything comes out so beautiful in rain, makes me love it even more. It makes me happy and so I consider this as one of the great privilege I possess, of running out and enjoy it while it rains. No matter how terrible the day has been, Rain would make me glad nonetheless. The sudden instinct I feel, the super happy blood gushing through me, bringing me to my toes and just like that, one forgets the sad world and become a part of the rain. It’s like my other form of chocolate and chips *grins* 

The pre-rain weather is to die for as well. The black-grey clouds which thunder and storm up in the air informing us that they would burst open any second, the smell of the mud which makes one wish to keep inhaling the ever strong pleasant aroma, the trees which swish and sing a melody of their own and the day which had been melting down from the blazing sun would take a 360 degree twist and transform into a to-die-for day, dancing along this whole scenario, which I believe even the unprivileged would enjoy. That’s the beauty of it. Running out when it rains is even more beautiful. And awesome.

Image 

 

Image

The black-grey clouds are here to stay! Taking over the entire city :’) I approve ❤

                                            

Naked kids from my colony would come out and do their happy naked dance out on the road. Wearing their mini size shorts (which is often not a good sight) trying to wear off the heat in an amazing and a pleasing way. Splashing through the water which gathers in the potholes on the road, thanks to our authorities who haven’t done anything about this, the kids get to enjoy and spend the leisure time of their swimming pool created in no time. 

Image

The same ecstatic naked kids are also always open for help!
The car of my neighbors got stuck in the mud-filled water, which in real happens to be the road you can not see. Oh this moment, I enjoyed.                                                                                                                   

So everyone out here, who loves rain just from behind their frosted glass/windows or the ones who absolutely despise it, you all are missing out on a great blessing. A great great blessing. Emphasize on ‘great’ please? Get yourself out and manage to put the ‘privileged’ label on your own self and see how everything dramatically changes to awesome-ness. If that’s really not how you feel, my sympathies. 

Image

Happy Rain Everyone!
& yes, that’s my school building. I was out of that prison, off to home

P.S : next time it rains, go out and make it worth it. I really mean it. Enjoy each droplet. Forget that umbrellas were ever invented.

 

About Sarin

Hello there. Currently a student, finishing my O'levels, a lazy teenage Pakistani. People tend to pronounce my first name wrong which annoys me. Here's how you pronounce it :- Sir-een. I think the world is funny and awesome. I'm addicted to Ice-cream and chips and I can have Chinese at any place, any day of the year. I love people. Almost all sorts. & travelling. Rain drives me crazy (in a good sense). My friend's cat hates me and gives me evil death glares. I’m here to express myself, on a board I think is awesome, and exchange my experiences, and my thoughts on randomness, maybe? I’ll be blogging about all the random stuff and you'll have to bear it.I love talking and surprises, wrapping presents and giving them away. My existence is for a reason. I want to die happy. And till then live happy to achieve the latter. Adios.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to The Privilege

  1. LAND OF FUN says:

    Very nice post …You enjoyed a lot ,described the joy and happiness with some unavoidable troubles and problems too…Your style to elaborate things is simply remarkable ….Keep enjoying ,and praying dear 😀

  2. LAND OF FUN says:

    These torrential and ceaseless rains are causing much destruction …Take care !

  3. Ralph says:

    I really do enjoy your writing Sarin. Heavy rain is good to clear the air of pollution and wash the dust off the plants. Happy days. 🙂

  4. M. Hassan says:

    I loved this post. Pre-rain weather really is to die for LOL. I love that weather. Also, the mid-afternoon post rain with the sweet scent of wet sands & grass. I loved the pictures of clouds! Specially the top one. Apparently I haven’t been stalking you well enough, what city is this?

  5. I love rain, and the rain in Pakistan is absolutely the best! Love the candid photos.

  6. It seems like you have some very interesting experiences, Sarin! I look forward to getting a chance to explore your blog further. 🙂

  7. freebirdmani says:

    Absolutely impressive Sarin 🙂 Life is fun but knowing there is more to it – you take me back there – world is still amazing with its simplicity 🙂

  8. Selina says:

    Love your candid photos! They’re awesome! Your writing style has brought me there that’s pretty awesome too 🙂

  9. Sleepyxyz says:

    I feel exactly the same way when it rains! N that song ‘rain rain go away’ is for countries like England were it rains so much ppl get tired 😛 Though I don’t think I cud ever get tired of the rain.

  10. Hey, pretty girl, consider yourself awarded. 🙂

    I was pleasantly surprised to be nominated for a Liebster Award by Louise (http://louiseagnes.com/about/). Well, now, I nominate you!

    The Rules:
    1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
    2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
    3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
    4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
    5. No tag backs.

  11. incusblack says:

    I too enjoy the rain. Your post reminds me of a poem I love. In part, it reads “the desolate deserted trees, the faded earth, the heavy sky; the beauty she so truly sees, she thinks I have no eye for these and vexes me for reasons why…”

    Thanks, Sarin.
    A.K.

  12. This is so beautiful! 🙂

  13. Teju says:

    Oh WOW! rain has its direct effects on my mood! there is some magical connect that i feel with it! 🙂

    • Sarin says:

      Hello Teju. I know right? It uplifts the mood like nothing else! 😀 Best thing one can be grateful for. Glad you and I can relate to this! 🙂

  14. yepirategunn says:

    This post is so atmospheric – loved the first photo, your thoughts on rain and the Bob Marley quote – liked all photos of course.

  15. Colourfade says:

    I could feel a rain around my home… 🙂 and the bob marley quote feels true,only some people feels the rain…here you can see me in the gravatar,waiting for the rain to come down…

  16. pflead73 says:

    I liked the way u elaborated it…and I didn’t even need to read ur complete article,coz those photos describe it all…but i did read it for ur writing style.

  17. Archana says:

    Lovely post … 🙂 Full of Life filled with joy 🙂

  18. Anwesha says:

    I enjoyed your blog immensely, Sarin (Sir-een)! Your words and expressions brought about some inexplicable joy and vibrancy within me. I love your sense of humour! 😀 And this post, especially, has made my day!
    Be the same forever!
    Love,
    Anwesha.

  19. aeraszaidi says:

    This has got to be your best blog so far. ‘Don’t know, though, ’cause haven’t read all of them.

Leave a Reply

